Indian States and Capitals With Union Territories 2022

states and capital of india 2022

Indian States and Capitals – India or “Bharat” is a country located in Asia. With a population of 135 cr. (approx.) India is the 2nd most populous and the 7th largest country in the world. There is a federal constitutional republic ruled by a parliamentary system.

States and Capitals

It is necessary to know about the states and union territories of our country. At present, India has 28 states and 8 union territories. It used to be 29 states and 7 union territories before Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh became union territories. Below is the list of States and Union Territories of the Republic Of India with their capitals.


S.No.State NameCapitalFound
1.Andhra PradeshAmravati1 November 1956
2.Arunachal PradeshItanagar20 February 1987
3.AssamDispur26 January 1950
4.BiharPatna26 January 1950
5.ChhattisgarhRaipur1 November 2000
6.GoaPanaji30 May 1987
7.GujaratGandhinagar30 May 1987
8.HaryanaChandigarh1 November 1966
9.Himachal PradeshShimla25 January 1971
10.JharkhandRanchi15 November 2000
11.KarnatakaBengaluru1 November 1956
12.KeralaThiruvananthapuram1 November 1956
13.Madhya PradeshBhopal26 January 1950
14.MaharashtraMumbai1 May 1960
15.ManipurImphal21 January 1972
16.MeghalayaShillong21 January 1972
17.MizoramAizawl20 February 1987
18.NagalandKohima1 December 1963
19.OdishaBhubaneswar26 January 1950
20.PunjabChandigarh1 November 1966
21.RajasthanJaipur26 January 1950
22.SikkimGangtok16 May 1975
23.Tamil NaduChennai1 November 1956
24.TelanganaHyderabad2 June 2014
25.TripuraAgartala21 January 1972
26.Uttar PradeshLucknow26 January 1950
27.UttarakhandDehradun9 November 2000
28.West BengalKolkata26 January 1950

Union Territories and Capitals

An act was passed by the Indian parliament in August 2019 called Jammu and Kashmir reorganization act, 2019. This act contains the provision to reorganize Jammu and Kashmir into two union territories.

Currently, the Republic Of India has a total of 8 union territories that are listed below.


1.Andaman &Nicobar IslandsPort Blair1 November 1956
2.ChandigarhChandigarh1 November 1966
3.Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman26 January 2020
4.DelhiDelhi1 November 1956
5.Jammu & KashmirSrinagar31 October 2019
6.LadakhLeh31 October 2019
7.LakshadweepKavaratti1 November 1956
8.PuducherryPondicherry16 August 1962

Keynotes -:

  1. The union territories are federal territories governed by the central government of India.
  2. The states have their own governments whereas union territories are administered by the central government of India.
  3. Daman and Diu & Dadra and Nagar Haveli were merged into one union territory by the Government of India in November 2019. Now it is called Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu

Related Posts

This Post Has 3 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *