IPL – Full Form, IPL Teams, Winners From 2008-2022

IPL Full-Form – You must have seen IPL matches on TV and mobile phones but do you know what is the Full form of IPL, what is the meaning of IPL? In this article, we will discuss all these questions about IPL and its full name.

ipl full form

IPL – Indian Premier League

IPL Full Form

The full form of IPL is “Indian Premier League”. IPL is an Indian based T20 format league where teams based in Indian cities compete to win the title. Founded in 2007, the Indian Premier League is owned and operated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). BCCI vice-president Lalit Modi is considered the mastermind of IPL as he came up with the idea for it. In IPL, there are currently 10 teams that compete in two rounds, the first round is double round-robin, followed by the second round is playoffs.  

IPL Teams

The following is a list of all the IPL teams. 

IPL Teams List 2022

S.No.Team Name
1. RCBRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2. CSKChennai Super Kings
3. MIMumbai Indians
4. RRRajasthan Royals
5. KKRKolkata Knight Riders
6. PBKSPunjab Kings
7. SRHSunrisers Hyderabad
8. DCDelhi Capitals
9. LSGLucknow Super Giants
10. GTGujrat Titans

IPL Winners List

There have been 15 seasons of IPL. Ahead we’ll tell you the list of IPL winners of each IPL season from the year 2008 to 2022.

IPL Winners List 2008-2022

1.2008Rajasthan Royals
2.2009Deccan Chargers
3.2010Chennai Super Kings
4.2011Chennai Super Kings
5.2012Kolkata Knight Riders
6.2013Mumbai Indians
7.2014Kolkata Knight Riders
8.2015Mumbai Indians
9.2016Sunrisers Hyderabad
10.2017Mumbai Indians
11.2018Chennai Super Kings
12.2019Mumbai Indians
13.2020Mumbai Indians
14.2021Chennai Super Kings
15. 2022Gujrat Titans

IPL Facts

  • The first season of IPL was organized in the year 2008.
  • The first IPL season was won by Rajasthan Royals.
  • Mumbai Indians has won the most number of seasons of IPL.
  • Virat Kohli has scored most number of runs in IPL.
  • Lasith Malinga has taken the most wickets in IPL.
  • The official website of IPL is – https://www.iplt20.com/

IPL Prizes

There are numerous prizes given to players every year. Some of them are discussed below.

Purple Cap – The Purple Cap is awarded to the player who takes the most wickets in a particular season. For example in IPL season 14 Harshal Patel of RCB won the Purple Cap award as he took 32 wickets in the season.

Orange Cap – Similar to the purple cap award, the orange cap award is given to the player who hits the highest runs in a particular season. For example, Virat Kohli was awarded the Orange Cap in the year 2016.

Most Sixes – This award is awarded to the player who hits the most sixes in a season.

Emerging Player – The Emerging Player Award is given to the outstanding young player of the entire season.

Fairplay Award – This award is not given to a single player but to the entire team who has the highest fairplay record of the season.

Other IPL Full Forms

There can be more than one full form of IPL, some of them are mentioned below.

IPLSport LeagueIndian Premier League
IPLLanguageInformation Processing Language
IPLLawIntellectual Property Law
IPLSport LeagueIran Pro League
IPLSport LeagueIndonesian Premier League

Wrapping Up

This was all about IPL and its full form. If you have any suggestions or enhancements to this post, please let us know by email and comment.

Also if you want to know the full form of any other acronym just comment down below and we’ll try to reach you as soon as possible.

Related Posts

This Post Has 3 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *